Skip to content

Spiritual Shells

July 14, 2008

Recently I went on vacation. I spent the week at one of the best places to relax, the beach. I had a great week and really felt refreshed. I had plenty of time to read and reflect and just kind of reconnect with God. We all need those kinds of moments those times to quiet our souls and reflect on what God has done, is doing and might do in the future. I truly cherish those moment of my faith journey.

One day as I was taking my morning stroll down the shoreline something caught my eye. And as I continued to walk I noticed the same thing again and again. I don’t know about you, but I am a people watcher and as I watched the sun-burnt tourist who had made the journey to the beach, I saw a common thread.

Time and time again I saw people picking up shells, rinsing them off, and then putting them in their pockets or in bags. This may not seem strange to anyone, but the more I thought about it the more odd it seemed to me.

I mean think about it, what do people do with those shells. Most likely they put them in a container or in some sort of craft to commemorate their trip to the beach. I remember in high school I did something similar when I put some sand from the beach in an empty mountain dew bottle. It is a simple gesture to remember the good times that we have had.

But as I was thinking about it, I wondered how many people from the coast have an ear of corn from Indiana in a jar on their shelves or maybe its some beautiful rocks form an authentic Ohiocreek-bed. I’m guessing that doesn’t happen too often. It makes me wonder what is so special about mementos from the beach.

I think it’s because for most of us, when we see the ocean and the beach, something deep inside of our soul is moved at the beauty of God’s creation. So those shells remind us of how “awe”some God really is.

In the book of Joshua (4:1-7) there is a story where the people of Israel take stones and build a memorial to remember how “awe”some God had been to them. I think we need to do more celebrating how “awe”some God is. We make it far too easy to miss the Kingdom happening all around us because we get caught up in the ordinary, the routine, and the everyday.

So what is it that you need to put in a jar on your shelf to remind you of how God is “awe”some to you right now, today, and everyday? Is it pictures of your family? Could it be the air you breathe representing another day of life? Maybe buttons to represent God’s provision.

It could be anything . . . but let’s start reminding ourselves how much we have to celebrate and may we begin to become a people who are in awe of an “awe”some God.

For His Kingdom,
Devin

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

